Board of Deacons

Becoming a Deacon at Myers Park Baptist Church is a transparent, democratic process. Our Deacon Board is elected entirely by our membership. Each March, the congregation fills out nomination forms, suggesting up to twelve potential Deacons. Our Ministry of Leadership then tallies nominations and — provided the individuals agree to serve — announces the new Deacon class.

For more information about the Deacons of Myers Park Baptist Church, contact:
Jay Rivers, Chair
Board of Deacons

December 2016 Deacons Meeting Minutes and Resources

Pastoral Care
Church members and their extended families may experience a range of joys or concerns throughout the year. While our ministers are in close touch with these members, our Pastoral Care Deacons provide an additional level of support. This may involve sending a note, making a phone call or a visit, or coordinating with our Congregational Care Ministry to provide a meal – whatever it takes to help members feel connected to their Myers Park Baptist Church family.  

For more information about our Pastoral Care outreach efforts, contact:
Cam Wester, Coordinator

Chair: Jay Rivers
Chair-Elect: Tara Harris
Secretary: Tony Dick

Deacon Class of 2018Deacon Class of 2019Deacon Class of 2020
Judy Bratton 
Leslie Clark
Koren Cranford
Lalla Dabbs
Dave Dougherty
Doug Driggers
Charlie Elberson
Ryan LaPrade
Susan Salvin
Cherrie Shoemaker
Cam Wester
Chris William
Robert Barfield 
Bob Bishop
Cindy Clemens
Tara Harris
Ann Hester
Jane Huddle
Elaine Johnson
Jill Kinney
MaryAnn Largen
Ted Phillips
Jay Rivers
Becky Rizzo
Saxby Chaplin 
Tony Dick
Susan Green
Beth Haenni
Ashley Hardy
Ed Largen
Kathryn Maltarich
Jenny Martella
Marcy McClanahan
Peggy Seale
Jeff Trenning
Keith Young

    Active Life Deacons
    Barbara Linney
    Janet Miller
    Barbara Mishoe
    Carol Pearsall
    Richard Pearsall
    Bob Thomason
    Tillie Tice
    Dan White
    Inactive Life Deacons
    Fred Allen
    Bonnie Banks
    Mollie Brugh
    Suzette Buchan
    Don Bynum
    Dick Cornwell
    Frank Dowd
    Gloria Gibson
    Dean Hamrick
    Robin Hicks
    Ed Hinson
    Tom Holmes
    Allen Hull, Sr.
    Jim Kratt
    George Linney
    Jane Lucas
    Ted Lucas
    Ray Owens
    Billy Pinson
    Todd Rubenson
    Dick Spangler
    Mack Turner
    Bill Walker
    Steve Woodard
    John Wyatt

Main Menu